Sharing Folders – Advanced Options

Default Rights or Permissions to folders in My Content

Default rights are designed to allow the majority of My Portfolio users to save and share their own searches and see other searches that are meaningful to them without having to change the View or Modify rights associated with the content they wish to share. Default rights differ depending on the specific portfolio.

If you want to keep control of the content in your folders, Bookmark them and Copy your bookmarks to class, school and/or district portfolios. If you are fine with content in your folders potentially being modified by others, Move or Copy the folders themselves to class, school and/or district portfolios.

Default Rights My Portfolio Class Portfolio School Portfolio District Portfolio
Allowed to View Only the Owner Any User in this Organization Any User in this Organization Any User in this Organization or Below
Allowed to Change Only the Owner Any Teacher in this Organization Any Teacher in this Organization Any Teacher in this Organization or Below

The owner of a portfolio may change the rights to that portfolio. That means, the owner of My Portfolio can change the viewing or changing rights of My Portfolio; the teacher who creates a Class Portfolio can change the rights to the Class Portfolio; the netTrekker Administrator for a school can change the rights to the School Portfolio; the netTrekker Administrator for a district can change the rights to a District Portfolio.


Choosing Advanced Options

If you choose to change the viewing or changing rights on a folder from the default settings click on the [edit] link next to the folder name. This will open the Edit Folder dialog box. Click on the Advanced Options dialog box at the bottom to access the Allow to Change and Allow to View options.

 

Example of Advanced Options Boxes

You have the option of changing Viewing rights, Changing rights, or both. Remember, if you change the Allowed to Change rights, other people will be able to modify the contents of your folder. If you are creating the folder with the intention of using it for collaboration, you will want to change the rights. If not, you will want to leave the default rights as they are, and perhaps Bookmark your folder and copy the bookmark to other portfolios.

Conditional Rights

Ownership of a folder depends on the portfolio in which that folder resides. If you create a folder, then Move or Copy that folder to a community (class, school or district) portfolio, it changes ownership and gains the rights associated with that new place. For instance, if you create a folder in My Portfolio, then Move or Copy it to your School Portfolio, it will be available for anyone in your school to view, and any teacher in your school will be able to make changes to it, based on the default options of the School Portfolio. These options are built into the Portfolio system to facilitate collaboration within classes, schools, and districts. If, however, you want to keep control of the viewing and changing rights of your folders, Bookmark them and copy the bookmarks to other portfolios, rather than moving or copying your original folders.

  • Teacher Options
    When teachers create classes, they can leave the rights at the default rights, or they can change the rights to allow students to change the contents of folders within the Class. Teachers should make this decision based on the purpose of their Class Portfolio. If the purpose is to allow students to view resources the teacher has found or created, the default rights are designed to allow that. If the purpose is to allow students to collaborate, then changing the rights to allow anyone to change the contents will allow that collaboration.By default, only teachers have permission to share folders to School or District Portfolios. If desired, they can share student folders to these portfolios, but only if those folders have been moved or copied into a Class Portfolio first. Because you are dealing with student work, it is very important to remember that if teachers move, copy or bookmark their Class Portfolios into the School or District Portfolios, anyone in the school or district will be able to view the contents and any teacher in the school or district will be able to change the contents, by default.
  • Student Options
    If a student has joined a class, the student may Move, Copy or Bookmark folders into the Class Portfolio. Students may also change the viewing or changing rights to their own folders. In addition, by default, students may view but not change folders in any community portfolios (class, school or district).

Related Articles